Pre-flight Checklist

Howdy y’all.

I got back to Lancaster LATE last night after a long pair of cross-country flights plus an extra hour of dicking around at the airport because my checked bag did not make it to California with me. Thankfully, it showed up early this afternoon, preventing me from having to freak out too much. My mom got me an ultra-comfortable, protective, and high-vis Triumph brand riding jacket that was packed in there. Without it, I would have had to ride with the old hardcore biker leathers, and the fair people of New Zealand are not ready for such a thing.

Tomorrow night is my fateful flight to Christchurch, leaving today as my pre-trip checklist day to get all my stuff together and packed. Now, because this is a motorcycle tour, I have to pack fairly light, as everything I show up in NZ with must somehow fit on my bike and my person. Everything must fit into my collapsible duffel bag and my backpack, with hopefully some room to spare for souvenirs.

What's down there? Only what you take with you.
What’s down there? Only what you take with you.

Geo NZ Inventory, Version 1.0

  • Big ass duffel bag
  • Riding boots
  • Riding gloves
  • Riding socks
  • Riding pants
  • Riding jacket of greater visibility
  • Tablet
  • Unlocked international phone (Sony Xperia E)
  • Camera
  • Helmet (with both tinted and untinted visors)
  • Helmet Bluetooth Intercom
  • Cool semi-rigid riding backpack
  • GoPro
  • Passport (note: this is important)
  • Sneakers
  • T-shirts, 5 ea. (Tolkein, Dreamkeepers, Big Robot, Miku, and Triumph)
  • Assorted jeans
  • International power supply, 2 ea.
  • Toiletries (Toothbrush, deodorant, contact lenses, etc.)
  • Underwear, socks, etc. (not shown)
  • A frickin’ pile of chargers and cables (not shown)
  • Folder with all my hotel and trip info (not shown)

Just enough stuff to hopefully stay safe and possibly make a fool of myself when people say “What the hell is on your shirt, mate?”.

I tried on all the gear at once and it felt very comfortable. Not necessarily ultra-light, but comfortable nonetheless. I don’t think I got the GoPro mount quite aligned perfectly, but it’s a wide angle camera, so it shouldn’t be a big deal.

Yeah!
Yeah!

I put all the clothes in some 2.5 gallon ziploc bags to keep them contained and waterproof for when saddlebags enter the picture. The riding gear takes up almost all the volume of the duffel bag, but it does fit! So it looks like I’m in good shape.

I still need to take care of a few odds and ends, but for the most part, I’m sitting pretty right now. I’ll have plenty of time during the day tomorrow to triple check everything before the late flight out. I’m excited, eager, and perhaps just a little anxious about this upcoming adventure, but I think as long as I don’t ride on the wrong side of the road or get caught smuggling undeclared fruit or vegetables into the southern hemisphere, I’ll be ok.

I leave the US at 10:00 PM on New Years Eve, but I won’t get to NZ until late morning on the 2nd of January, local time. My New Years Day will be forever lost to the international dateline. If I have the energy, I’ll try to post again when I’m settled in down in Christchurch.

And since it’s Tuesday… time for a beer. Salud!

Cheers everyone!
Cheers everyone!
5 thoughts on “Pre-flight Checklist

  1. How exciting! So happy for, and proud of you, Geoffrey. I love that you not only have such an adventurous spirit, but you’re Carpe Diem-ing so grandly.
    I was exactly your age the first time I took my first solo trip from IN to SoCal, taking one week via the central/southern route, and then stretching my return trip into two weeks via the northern route (up to Seattle and back). It changed my life and perspectives forever. I wish you many epiphanies and discoveries (self and otherwise) along the way as well.
    Bon Voyage, and Happy New Year! Love you Geoffie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

